Mortgage Broker Advice - Manchester

I'm a final year student at Manchester University [http://www.manchester.ac.uk/] and I've secured a job in Greater Manchester around the M60 motorway. As I'm a big fan of the city I'd like to start the wheels in motion for buying a house in Manchester but I've found that it's not so easy to get a mortgage. At least not from the likes of HSBC or Halifax. I therefore am considering using a mortgage broker to get the the mortgage deal I want. Has anyone had any experience of mortgage brokers in Manchester?

My wife and I have a combined yearly income of £63,000 and we are looking to get a mortgage so we can buy a house in Urmston, Manchester. Urmston is our first choice but if nothing is available we would consider living further afield in places like Flixton, Stretford or Sale. We have a small deposit of £10,000 and have seen a house on the Urmston / Sale border (a place called Carrington). I have been recommended using Manchester Mortgages as a mortgage lender and wonder if they are also mortgage brokers? Is a lender and a broker the same thing when it comes to mortgages?

Both enquiries are excellent material for successfully getting a mortgage in Manchester - one of the most sort after places in the North of England, and with good road and rail links. Ideally you should look for a broker who can select from the whole of the market rather than being tied to just one lender. A great example is Manchester Mortgages (Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/manchestermortgages/) who post regularly about clients they have managed to get mortgages approved for and seem be to a friendly bunch according to what people say about them anyway.